Tintjournal Logo

Remi Skytterstad


First Language(s): Norwegian
Second Language(s): English


My name is Remi Skytterstad, I am a 27-year-old male, who lives in Tromsø with my daughter. I study educational science and she attends kindergarten. In my free time, I'm painfully predictable, I read, watch tv-series, try to write and go out with friends.


What was your favorite book as a child?

It all started with a boy who lived in a cupboard under the stairs—which sent me down a rabbit hole. I’d climb inside wardrobes looking for fauns and streetlights, and roam the forests, pretending to be hunting Uruk-Hai’s.

Do you remember the original reason or motivation why you started writing creatively?

It is something that has always been there, itching in the back of my head. Because I would read about these fantastic characters, and unbelievable worlds, and I have always wondered—could I write something like that? Obviously, fantasy is not what I’m writing these days, but that’s where it started.

What was the most adventurous or thrilling thing you ever did/experienced?

The time that passed from when I heard the words here she comes to me holding my daughter for the first time.

Do you listen to music while reading or writing?

I don’t listen to music when I’m reading, but sometimes if I need to get into a certain mood—like before a party—I’ll put on something that’s not too lyrics-heavy.


Flash Nonfiction
No! – 04.06.2019
Issue Fall '19

Supported by:

Land Steiermark: Kultur, Europa, Außenbeziehungen
U.S. Embassy Vienna
Stadt Graz